The Past Two Weeks

Gorman and I are overwhelmed and so grateful for all the love, concern and prayers from our friends and family.  I am starting this blog to help keep you all informed about our progress and I’ll try to post an update every few days.

A quick overview of the past two weeks:  We went to the Emergency Room at Thomas Hospital on Sunday, January 22.  Gorman had not felt well off and on for quite a while and the doctor thought it all had to with his high blood pressure; however, that weekend he was having problems with his balance, listing to the left and dragging his left foot; scary.  They did a CT scan, found a mass on the right side of his brain, transferred him to Mobile Infirmary.  The next day, January 23, Dr. Edward Flott, neurosurgeon, operated and removed the tumor.  The diagnosis is glioblastoma and it is impossible to get it all so he will have radiation and chemotherapy.

Here is some good news:  Gorman feels great physically; in fact, much better than before the surgery because the headaches and nausea are gone.   He has no pain at the sight of the surgery, just a huge incision that’s healing nicely.

 

 

 

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. This is a great idea, Beverly. I LOVE the photo.

  2. Ok, now I am not Anonymous.

  3. What a lovely way to keep your friends in touch. Hugs to you and Gorman.

  4. Beverly, thanks for the update I have been thinking about you and praying for you and your family.

  5. God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Psalm 46:1-3

  6. Beverly, you, Gorman and your family are on our hearts and in our prayers. So glad to know how to stay informed. love you!

    • Gorman! I wanted you to know I have been praying so hard for you and your family. I have been keeping posted through Catchot and Ms Mims….Thanks Mrs Beverly for keeping us all posted!

  7. Our family will keep praying for you and all members all your family in this difficult time. I know you are a fighter and will be able to beat this
    God bless. Mike brown.

  8. So great to see Gorman and the boys! Thank you for this – it will be so great to keep in touch. We love you both and pray every day for God’s presence to be near to you during these days. Love, Gayla and John

  9. Oh Beverly, this is such a great idea. What a wonderful picture! I am praying for you and Gorman daily. Now, I will know exactly what to pray with you keeping us updated.
    Cathie

  10. What a great photo of three great guys! Thank you, Bev, for writing this blog! Love & hugs to you all. Joy & Mike

  11. Gorman Wanted to let you know from your ole roomy in Honduras that Mary Elizabeth and I are lifting you and Beverly up on a daily basis. We send our love and concern in asking for a good outcome through all of this. George

  12. Dear Gorman: I pray for you everyday. With your wife and family on your side I wish you a speedy recovery. God loves you.

  13. Ellen and Bob Gentle

    We love you and continue to pray. Still very encouraged.
    Ellen and Bob

  14. Beverly, Gorman,Grady, Charlie, Kathleen and Rylamd,

    Thank you for taking the time to let us be a part of the update. We rejoice that Gorman is feeling so good. We love you so much and you never leave our hearts and thoughts. Know you are in the prayers of thousands! We love you and pray for healing and strength. Kathie and Chuck Lott

  15. Beverly and Gorman,
    Rush and I are thinking of you and praying for you during this very trying time. Praise God that He is our strength and our strong tower!
    We will be praying and walking beside you on this journey! Our hearts are with you!! Evelyn and Rush

  16. Great picture .. Prayers continue
    When will Gorman start treatment ? We heard you were going to stay local. Love you both
    Sheila & Paul

  17. Beverly, thank you so much for setting up this blog. It will surely be a benefit to us to know exactly what your specific prayer needs are. What an awesome photo! I hope that you all feel the countless prayers that are being lifted on your behalf.

    “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

  18. I want to let you know that all of us have Gordon and his family on our minds. The picture is terrific. Two fine looking young men and Gordon looks great! I only met him once but I have enjoyed working for Neel-Schaffer the past 20 some odd years. May God bless you and your family and give you strength.

    Kathi Smith
    Columbus Office

  19. Thanks for setting up the blog, it is a great way to let us know of specfic prayer needs while ya’ll are on your new journey. The Lord is good and we all know that he is in control of everything and is walking with you every step of the way!! Ya’ll are in my prayers daily.

    Debra Coward
    NSI Columbus office

  20. Joe and I are keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers. We hope you have a quick recovery. This blog is great! I will be checking in often. With love,
    Tressee Koloski

  21. We are thinking about you all, know that you are being prayed over and God is in control of every situation. Thank you for keeping us informed, ya are very loved for sure!

    Janette Singletary

  22. Mr. Schaffer,

    We are praying that you and your family are surrounded by God’s love and peace. Remember that He works ALL things for the good of those who love him! (Romans 8:28).

    Mandy Hegwood
    NSI Laurel office

  23. Scott Higginbotham

    Gorman, Hang in there sir, there are a ton of people with you and your family on their minds and in their prayers including all of us in the Environmental Science Group at Neel-Schaffer, Inc. My Moma had a major stroke back on April 10, 2011, and had a similar surgery as you did, except they removed an huge hunk of her skull to relieve the brain swelling. The surgeons “screwed her head back on”, as she put it, a few months later and is doing better now. You are being prayed for at the same time I pray for my Moma, just so you’ll know. Let us know if you all need anything. Yes, you really look good in the photo of you and your sons. Take care!

    Scott Higginbotham

  24. Hi, Gorman. It’s your token Maine Republican here. I played golf yesterday with my good buddy Ken Houghton. You and Beverly met the Houghtons at their summer cottage across from Damariscotta last summer. He asked me to send his best to you and Beverly and to let you know he is thinking of you both.

    Nancy & I had a lovely visit last weekend with Beverly Clark and her daughter Kim here in Atlanta.

  25. Beverly and Gorman, I am thinking of you everyday. I would like to help you in any way that I can. Even the smallest or the worst job you need help with PLEASE allow me to help.

    Kitty Knoedler

  26. Beverly and Gorman – Great idea for the blog and that picture is so very special. Wow.
    Our family is with you in spirt every minute.
    Several years ago, when Zack’s future was uncertain, my brother in law, Mike, gave us all tee shirts reminding us that with God all things are possible. They read “Trust me. I do this all the time”.

  27. Hallie Gail Crook

    Great to have this method to keep up with ya’ll, it’s a lot better than bugging other folks for news. We’ve got you and your family in our prayers and I know that God has you in his hand. Love the picture! It’s been a long time since I’ve seen your boys. Hallie Gail

  28. Beverly, Frank and I are praying for Gorman and all of your family.

  29. Healing prayers to the four of you

  30. BEVERLY AND GORMAN,
    YOU TWO ARE IN MY THOUGHTS DAILY, AND I CERTAINLY UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE GOING THROUGH. THE DECISIONS, WHEN THERE ARE OPTIONS, ARE DIFFICULT. HOWARD AND I HAD MANY CONVERSATIONS ABOUT THE ROUTE TO TAKE BEFORE HE HAD HIS SURGERY. I WISH YOU WISDOM IN KNOWING HOW TO PROCEED. I SEND YOU BOTH MY LOVE.

  31. Beverly – you are in our thoughts and prayers and we wait to hear good news . Love Val and Jim

  32. Beverly,
    Your Oncologist, Dr. Bert Nabors is a native of Columbus and I understand he is wonderful. Also the BEST! And that’s what we want and need, isn’t it? God led you to the BEST. PTL!
    Ljo

  33. Gorman & Beverly,
    Tom and I have you in our prayers constantly and are including all of your healthcare providers in those prayers. We know that you are in great hands with Dr. MM, and I know that other doors, ie. studies, excellent treatments will open to you. You have wonderful resources in friends and family to stand with you on this journey, but number 1 is the FAITH you always show in the ultimate healer, Jesus Christ.
    Thanks for keeping us posted during this journey. If there is anything we can do, please, please let us know.
    Much love,
    Tom & Donna Henderson

  34. Nell Browning-Allen

    Hi, Beverly and Gorman, I’m Nell Browning- Allen. Phillip worked withGorman @ S&S in Jackson. Phillip was very fond of Gorman. When he
    knew he was not going to be around for Steven, our son, he said if Steven ever needs any advice, tell him to call Gorman Schaffer. Phillip didn’t
    say things like that unless he meant it. Now, have b een following Gorman’s progress thru Jackie Williamson. Hope he does well in his treat-
    ments. I met my daughter-in-laws great uncle who lives in Fairhope. He ask me if I knew Gorman, and I said yes I do. I believe his name was
    Jack. He was from Montgomery. Sorry I don’t know his full name. Nell Browning-Allen

  35. You are in my prayers! Much love… Let me know when you are coming through Laurel.

Leave a comment